Explore Cap-Haitien and its surroundings

Chief-place and great urban pole, Cap-Haitien is located north of the country, west of a bay which has the same name. The region’s economy relies mostly on tourism.

Cap-Haitien holds the country’s second international airport (Hugo Chavez international Airport); the first and largest one is in Port-au-Prince. Hugo Chavez airport offers regular flights to Port-au-Prince several times a day, but also daily flights to Florida, Providenciales and other destinations in the area.

 

Historical experience

By themselves, Cap-Haitien and its surroundings are a big part of the country’s entire history. By the way, Cap-Haitien is known to hold the largest concentration of historical monuments.

With its typical architecture, its right angle drawn street, and its colonial weft, Cap-Haitien’s down-town, founded in 1670, has a tourist wealth similar to the French Quarter of New Orleans in the United States.

Some very old houses and buildings (eg. Our-Lady of Assumption cathedral) are quite noticeable because of their French colonial architecture.

Monuments like Citadelle La Ferriere and Sans Souci palace (composing the National Historic Park, recognized as humanity heritage by the UNESCO in 1982), Picolet Fort, the fortresses in Fort-Liberte city, explain how devoted the revolutionaries were to protect the country.

Cap-Haitien is also a witness of the Tainos civilisation, the island’s first occupants. Petroglyphs carved on rocks, the rivers and caves at Sainte-Suzanne village and numerous artefacts as well offer an instant trip in the island’s faraway past. Island that the Tainos used to call: Ayiti. The bed of Sainte-Suzanne’s River contains large rocks that were carved more than 1000 years ago.

Seaside experience

When talking about Cap-Haitien, not mentioning its seaside aspect is unthinkable. One of its hotel-beaches, Cormier, is very much loved by local as well as foreign tourists.

Not far from Cap-Haitien, is Labadee, a seaside station that welcomes the world’s biggest and most expensive cruise ship, the «Oasis of the Seas». Over 6000 tourists get off of that ship weekly. It is possible to do a lot of activities in Labadee, especially water activities.

Gastronomy experience

People of the North are deemed to be excellent cooks; this is why Cap-Haitien is far from being an exception and is even considered a must.

Tourist coming from other cities of the country and from abroad will enjoy delicious and succulent «capoise» style meals in one of the numerous restaurants in the city.

Many restaurants like Lakay, Auberge du Picolet, etc. will please whatever the taste and requirements of the tourist.

Top things to do and to see in Cap-Haitien

Plan your stay

Make all your reservations on the same website

Réservez un forfait pour faire simple

Explorez Cap-Haïtien et ses environs

Chef lieu et grand pôle urbain, Cap-Haïtien est située dans le nord du pays, à l’ouest d’une baie portant le même nom. L’économie de la région repose en très grande partie sur le tourisme.

Cap-Haïtien détient le deuxième des deux aéroports internationaux du pays (aéroport Hugo Chavez); le premier et le plus grand étant à Port-au-Prince. L’aéroport Hugo Chavez offre des vols réguliers vers Port-au-Prince plusieurs fois par jours, mais aussi des vols journaliers vers la Floride, Providenciales et d’autres destinations de la zone.

Expérience historique

Cap-Haïtien et ses environs constituent à eux-seuls une très grande partie de l’histoire complète du pays. D’ailleurs, Cap-Haïtien a la réputation de regrouper la plus grande concentration de monuments historiques.

Avec son architecture typique, ses rues tracées à angle droit, et sa trame coloniale, le centre-ville de Cap-Haïtien, fondée en 1670, présente un cachet touristique semblable au quartier Le Vieux Carré de la Nouvelle-Orléans aux États-Unis.

Certaines maisons et bâtiments âgés de plusieurs années (ex. la cathédrale Notre-Dame de l’Assomption) ne passent pas inaperçus étant donné leur architecture coloniale française.

Des monuments comme la Citadelle La Ferrière et le palais Sans Souci (formant le Parc National Historique, reconnu comme patrimoine de l’humanité par l’UNESCO en 1982), le Fort Picolet, les forts de la ville de Fort-Liberté, expliquent le dévouement qu’avaient les révolutionnaires pour protéger le pays.

Cap-Haïtien est aussi témoin de la civilisation Taïnos, les premiers habitants de l’île d’Haïti. Des pétroglyphes gravées sur des roches, les rivières et les grottes du village de Sainte-Suzanne, ainsi que de nombreux artefacts, offrent un voyage instantané dans le passé lointain de l’île que les Taïnos nommaient Ayiti. Le lit de la rivière de Sainte-Suzanne est parsemé de gros rochers qui ont été gravés il y a plus de 1000 ans.

Expérience balnéaire

Lorsqu'on parle de Cap-Haïtien, on ne peut pas ne pas parler de son côté balnéaire. L’une de ses hotel-plages, Cormier, est très prisé par les touristes autant locaux qu’étrangers.

Non loin de Cap-Haïtien, se trouve Labadee, une station balnéaire qui accueille le plus grand et le plus coûteux paquebot de croisière au monde, l'«Oasis of the Seas». Plus de 6000 croisiéristes y débarquent chaque semaine, et il est possible d’y faire une panoplie d’activités, surtout des activités aquatiques.

Expérience gastronomique

Les gens du Nord sont réputés pour être d’excellents cuisiniers, voilà pourquoi Cap-Haïtien est loin d’être une exception et constitue même un incontournable.

Les touristes provenant d’autres villes du pays et de l’étranger savoureront de délicieux et succulents mets à la «capoise» dans l’un des nombreux restaurants de la ville.

Plusieurs restaurants comme Lakay, Auberge du Picolet, etc. sauront satisfaire quel que soit le goût et les exigences du touriste.

Top choses à voir et à faire au Cap-Haitien

Planifiez votre séjour

Réservez tout sur le même site WEB

Réservez un forfait pour faire simple