Plan your trip

Make all your reservations without leaving our website

Clairin Distilleries around Cap-Haitien

The clairin properly said is a brandy, a local product made in Haiti. The drink is made with sugar caneby using traditional methods; these methods date from the colonial era.

The distillation process to obtain it is the same as the rum’s, that is why the two drinks have a certain resemblance. However, the clairin does not go through the refining process. Refining is what differentiates the types of alcohol produced by fermentation.

In general, the clairin is wet, it means that a certain amount of water is added to reduce the degree of alcohol.

According to many sources, there are more than 500 clairin distilleries in Haiti. In popular language, distilleries are also called guildives. It is possible to visit some of them in the northern department and even taste the final product. These distilleries are a pillar for the economy of the northern region, which explains the great popularity of the drink not only in the north, but throughout the country.

This is somehow why the clairin is to Haiti what the maple syrup is to Quebec.

Some of the most popular distilleries around Cap-Haitien

Distillery Larue in Cap-Haitien

This distillery was founded in 1962 by Raymond Eugene Nazon and is part of the Northern Heritage. It bottles the Nazon clairin, which contains 40% alcohol.

Distillery Bethel Romelus

It manufactures the clairin le Rocher. This distillery is located in Pignon, a village south of Cap-Haitien. This clairin is the result of a spontaneous fermentation, which gives it an alcohol content of 46.5%.

Guildiverie Patrick

In 2012, Patrick St-Cirin took over the family business in Milot, a city located south of Cap-Haitien. The company will soon be categorized economuseum; that is to say visitors will be able to attend a workshop during which a craftsman will explain to them his job which is traditional, but also part of the modernity. Therefore, visits are by reservation and last 30 to 45 minutes.

Plan your stay

Make all your reservations on the same website

Distilleries de Clairin de la région du Cap-Haitien

Le clairin proprement dit est une eau-de-vie, un produit local fabriqué en Haïti. La boisson est fabriquée avec de la canne à sucre en employant des méthodes traditionnelles; une fabrication qui date de l’époque coloniale.

Le processus de distillation pour l’obtenir est le même que celui du rhum, voilà pourquoi les deux boissons ont une certaine ressemblance. Par contre, le clairin ne passe pas par le processus de raffinage. Le raffinage est ce qui différencie les types d’alcool produits par la fermentation.

En général, le clairin est mouillé, ce qui veut dire qu’une certaine quantité d’eau est ajoutée pour diminuer le degré d’alcool.

Selon plusieurs sources, on dénombre plus de 500 distilleries de clairin en Haïti. Dans le langage populaire, les distilleries sont aussi appelées guildives. Il est possible de visiter certaines d’entre elles dans le département du nord et même de déguster le produit final. Ces distilleries sont un pilier pour l’économie de la région du nord, ce qui explique la grande popularité de la boisson non seulement dans le nord, mais dans tout le pays.

Voilà un peu pourquoi le clairin est à Haïti ce que le sirop d’érable est au Québec.

Quelques distilleries dans la région du Cap

Distillerie Larue au Cap-Haïtien

Cette distillerie a été fondée en 1962 par Raymond Eugène Nazon et elle fait partie du Patrimoine du Nord. Elle embouteille le clairin Nazon qui contient 40% d’alcool.

Distillerie Bethel Romelus

Elle fabrique le clairin le Rocher. Cette distillerie se trouve à Pignon, un village situé au sud de Cap-Haïtien. Ce clairin est le fruit d’une fermentation spontanée, ce qui lui donne une teneur en alcool de 46,5%.

Guildiverie Patrick

En 2012, Patrick St-Cirin prend la direction de l’entreprise familiale à Milot, une ville située au sud de Cap-Haïtien. L’entreprise sera bientôt catégorisée économusée; c’est-à-dire que les visiteurs pourront assister à un atelier durant lequel un artisan leur expliquera son métier qui est traditionnel, mais qui fait aussi partie de la modernité. De ce fait, les visites sont sur réservation et durent 30 à 45 minutes.