Plan your trip

Make all your reservations without leaving our website

The Historic National Park

A group of 3 attractions

The National Historical Park is located in Milot, in the north of Haiti; a city not too far south of Cap-Haitien. By car, the distance is about 35 minutes.

The park covers a 25 km2 land and is composed of three buildings: Citadelle La Ferriere, the ruins of Sans Souci Palace and the Ramiers Complex.

Citadelle La Ferrière

The construction of this huge fortress was ordered by Henri Christophe at the beginning of the 19th century. Its construction lasted 14 years and required the participation of 200 000 workers.

It is a huge fortress standing at 900 meters on top of a hill. It is also the biggest fortress of the entire Caribbean. Its purpose was to prevent a possible return of the French army. At its base, there are still stacks of cannonballs.

It offers a panoramic view of the entire northern region. From its summit, it’s possible to have an extensive view of the Caribbean Sea. When the weather is good, it is even possible to see the east coast of Cuba.

For the climb, visitors can rent a horse for a little amount of money at the tourist office.

Sans Souci Palace

Henri Christophe is also the one who ordered the construction of this palace. Although in ruins today, its remnants explain the extent of the territory on which it was built. Two earthquakes (1842 & 1843) seriously destroyed it.

This colossal monument was the personal residence of Henri Christophe and was divided into four sections including: the King's apartments (Henri Christophe), left pavilion, the Queen's apartments and large stables. It even had a barracks, a hospital, a print shop and more. According to the hearsay, the style of the palace was to compete with the castle of Versailles.

Des Ramiers Building

The construction of des Ramiers building began at the same time as the Citadelle’s. It is a plateau containing the ruins of a fort; this fort was formed by four fortified redoubts. From these redoubts, the soldiers could overwatch, and could protect the southern flank of the Citadelle.

From des Ramiers building, the soldiers had access to the Citadelle via drawbridges.

UNESCO World Heritage

The park was created in 1968, so, a very long time after the buildings were built. It is part of the UNESCO World Heritage since 1982.

A reception office was built to welcome visitors adequately. It holds a restaurant, an infirmary, an audio-visual interpretation room and kiosks that sell handicrafts for the benefit of small merchants in the area.

A few years ago, the Tourism Ministry set the entry fee to the site at $5 USD for foreign tourists and 25 HTG Gourdes for local tourists.

Plan your stay

Make all your reservations on the same website

Réservez « À la Carte »

Sélectionnez ce qu'il vous faut pour compléter votre voyage

Where to sleep

Experience it

Moving around

Le Parc National Historique

Un regroupement de 3 sites touristiques

Le Parc National Historique se trouve à Milot, dans le nord d’Haïti; une ville pas trop loin au sud de Cap-Haïtien. En voiture, la distance équivaut à environ 35 minutes.

Le parc occupe une superficie de 25 km2 et se compose de trois bâtiments: Citadelle La Ferrière, les ruines du Palais Sans Souci et le Complexe des Ramiers.

Citadelle La Ferrière

La construction de cette immense forteresse a été commandée par Henri Christophe au début du 19e siècle. Sa construction a duré 14 années et a nécessité la participation de 200 000 travailleurs.

C’est une grande forteresse qui s’élève à 900 mètres d’altitude au sommet d’une colline. C’est d’ailleurs la plus grande forteresse de toute la Caraïbe. Son but était de prévenir un éventuel retour de l’armée française. À sa base, il reste encore des piles de boules de cannon.

Elle offre une vue panoramique sur toute la région du nord. De son sommet, on peut avoir une vue étendue sur la Mer des Caraïbes. Lorsque la température est bonne, il est même possible d’apercevoir la côte Est de Cuba.

Pour l’ascension, les visiteurs peuvent louer un cheval pour une petite somme d’argent au bureau du touriste.

Palais Sans Souci

C’est aussi Henri Christophe qui a commandé la construction de ce palais. Bien qu’en ruines aujourd’hui, ses restants mettent en évidence l’ampleur du territoire sur lequel il a été construit. Ce sont deux tremblements de terre (1842 & 1843) qui l’ont mis en ruines.

Ce vaste monument était la résidence personnelle d’Henri Christophe et était divisé en quatre sections dont : les appartements du roi (Henri Christophe), pavillon gauche, les appartements de la reine et de vastes écuries. Il abritait même une caserne, un hôpital, une imprimerie et plus encore. Selon les on-dit, le style du palais devait rivaliser avec le Chateau de Versailles.

Bâtiment des Ramiers

La construction du bâtiment des Ramiers à débuté en même temps que celle de la Citadelle. C’est un plateau contenant les ruines d’un fort; ce fort était formé de quatre redoutes fortifiées. Grâce à ces redoutes, les soldats pouvaient faire de la surveillance, et ainsi pouvaient protéger le flanc sud de la Citadelle.

À partir du bâtiment des Ramiers, les soldats avaient accès à la Citadelle par des ponts-levis.

Patrimoine Mondial de l’UNESCO

Le parc a été crée en 1968, donc très longtemps après la construction des bâtiments. Depuis 1982, il fait partie du Patrimoine Mondial de l’UNESCO.

Une structure d’accueil a été construite pour mieux recevoir les visiteurs. Celle-ci abrite un restaurant, une infirmerie, une salle d’interprétation audio-visuelle et des kiosques qui vendent des produits artisanaux pour le bénéfice des petits marchands de la zone.

Il y a quelques années, le Ministère du tourisme avait établi les frais d’entrée dans le site à 5$ USD pour les touristes étrangers et 25 Gourdes HTG pour les locaux.

Planifiez votre séjour

Réservez tout sur le même site WEB

Réservez « À la Carte »

Sélectionnez ce qu'il vous faut pour compléter votre voyage

Vous loger

Vivre l'expérience

Vous déplacer