Explore Ile-a-Vache and its surrounding

Ile-a-Vache is one of the most beautiful destinations in the south of Haiti. It is located at 10 km south-east of Cayes city. The tourist who will discover it will find a certain peace of mind. It is the ideal place for the person looking for long lasting pleasure; because, as it is often said: « it’s where time stands still ».

Historical experience

Ile-a-Vache by itself represents an important part of Haiti’s history. From 1698 to 1700, the island was at the heart of a political battle and was even a refuge for some pirates, including the notorious English Henry Morgan, alson known as Captain Morgan. He even lost a boat alongside of the island. There’s a hotel on the island named after him: Port Morgan.

 

Meeting experience

Ile-a-Vache will grant all the visitors the possibility to meet its people. The people of Ile-a-Vache are very friendly and will be ready to accompany the tourists in discovering the island. Visitors will be pampered by the staff of Abaka Bay Resort, Port Morgan and Anse-à-l'Eau Beach House hotels. They’ll also meet the local fishermen who supply the restaurants (ex. La Kay du Pecheur) with their catch of the day.

 

Seaside experience

In terms of activities, the tourist can expect to have a lot of choices. There are excursions that can be done; excursions that will bring the tourist to Îlots de Amoureux and Permantois islets and some not far away cities: Camp Perrin, Port a Piment, Port-Salut.

The tourist can also expect to have a euphoric experience with tons of water activities, especially at the Marina of Port Morgan.

Explorer l'Île-à-Vache et ses environs

L'Ile-à-Vache est l'une des plus belles destinations du sud d’Haïti. Elle est située à 10 km au sud-est des Cayes. Le touriste qui partira à sa découverte trouvera une certaine tranquillité d’esprit. Elle est l’endroit idéale pour une personne qui cherche du plaisir de longue durée; parce que, comme il est souvent dit : « c’est là où le temps s’arrête »

Expérience historique

L'Ile-à-Vache à elle seule constitue une page importante dans l’histoire d’Haïti. De 1698 à 1700, l’ile est au cœur d’une bataille politique, et fut même un refuge pour des pirates, dont le célèbre Anglais Henry Morgan connu sous le nom de Capitaine Morgan. Celui-ci a même perdu un bateau au large de l'île. Il y a même un hôtel qui porte son nom : Port Morgan.

Expérience rencontre

Ile-à-Vache donnera à tous les visiteurs la possibilité de rencontrer ses habitants. Très sympathiques, ces habitants seront prêts à accompagner les touristes dans la découverte de l’île. Les visiteurs seront choyés par le personnel des hôtels Abaka Bay Resort, Port Morgan et l'Anse-à-l'Eau Beach House. Ils auront aussi l’occasion de croiser les pêcheurs locaux qui fournissent leurs prises du jour aux restaurants (ex. La Kay du Pêcheur).

Expérience balnéaire

En termes d’activités, le touriste peut s’attendre à avoir l’embarras du choix. Il pourra faire des excursions qui le conduiront vers les Îlots de Amoureux et Permantois et même de certaines villes avoisinantes : Camp Perrin, Port à Piment, Port-Salut.

Le touriste peut aussi s’attendre à vivre une expérience euphorique par le biais d’une multitude d’activités aquatiques, surtout à la Marina de Port Morgan.