Plan your trip

Make all your reservations without leaving our website

The Ogier-Fombrun Museum

History

The Ogier-Fombrun Museum is located in Montrouis, in Haiti, on the renovated ruins of a sugar plantation from the 18th century, built in 1760 by the colonel Guillaume Ogier, and abandoned when he died in 1799 during the revolutionary period.

In the month of March 1977, the remains of this site were entirely redeveloped by an architect named Gérard Fombrun who personally invested many years of his life.

What you will find

The museum's content will literally tell you Haiti's history from the pre-columbian era to the revolution. The objects composing the museum are numerous and will guide you through the history's meanders passing by many emotions.

Objects like: instruments of torture, rifles of the time, statues, canons, canoes, trolley (which was used to carry the slaves owners), pottery & ceremony objects, painting, etc. The rooms display an array of interesting colonial machinery, equipment and furniture as well as original documents from that the Native American period, and a fantastic collection of swords.

The Museum shares the property with Moulin Sur Mer Beach Resort Hotel where you can cool off, have lunch and enjoy a sea bath in an idyllic setting.

Plan your stay

Make all your reservations on the same website

Réservez « À la Carte »

Sélectionnez ce qu'il vous faut pour compléter votre voyage

Nearby accommodation

Experience it

Le Musée Ogier-Fombrun

Histoire

Le Musée Ogier-Fombrun est situé́ près du village de Montrouis, dans l’enceinte d’une habitation sucrière datant du 18ème siècle, construite en 1760 par le colon bordelais Guillaume Ogier, et abandonnée à sa mort en 1799, durant la période révolutionnaire.

Au mois de mars 1977, les vestiges du musée ont été entièrement réaménagés par l’architecte Gérard Fombrun qui s'est personnellement impliqué pendant de nombreuses années.

Qu'est-ce qu'on y trouve

Le contenu du musée va littéralement vous raconter l'histoire d’Haïti depuis la période précolombienne jusqu'à la révolution. Les objets qui composent le musée sont nombreux et vont vous guider dans les méandres de l’histoire, en passant par une gamme d’émotions.

Des objets tels : instruments de torture, carabines de l’époque, statues, canons, pirogues, chariots (qui servaient au déplacement des maitres), poterie & objets de culte, tableaux, etc. Le musée abrite dans ses salles une intéressante collection d’objets et de documents authentiques de la période amérindienne, de l’époque coloniale, et une superbe collection d’épées.

Le Musée est limitrophe à l’hôtel Moulin Sur Mer Beach Resort où l’on peut se rafraîchir, déjeuner et profiter d’un bain de Mer dans un cadre idyllique.

Planifiez votre séjour

Réservez tout sur le même site WEB

Réservez « À la Carte »

Sélectionnez ce qu'il vous faut pour compléter votre voyage

Hébergement à proximité

Vivre l'expérience