Explore Port-au-Prince and its surroundings

A hub, the capital and the commercial center of Haiti, the seat of government

Port-au-Prince is located on a beautiful bay at the top of the Gulf of Gonâve (Gonaïves), and is protected from the sea by the island of La Gonâve.

When we talk about Port-au-Prince, we are talking about the city. The latter is located in the municipality of Port-au-Prince, which is a subdivision of the district of Port-au-Prince located in the department of the West.

Capital and commercial center of Haiti, seat of the government, Port-au-Prince is one of the 2 entry points in the country. It owns the largest of the 2 international airports, the Toussaint Louverture airport. It is a hub necessary to reach the vast majority of other regions of Haiti.

Urban experience

The city is rather urban and very alive. The commercial districts occupy the Seaside whose streets are invaded by street vendors, colored cars (tap-taps) and moto-taxis. The higher you climb towards the hills, the more the crowd loses its density.

A large part of the Haitian elite reside in the suburb of Pétion-Ville, a high hill just 15 minutes south-east of Port-au-Prince and 450 meters above sea level. Higher, in Boutilliers in the mountains, as soon as the sun sets, a splendid spectacle reveals the beauty of the tumbling city of the cirque from its hills towards the sea.

Historical experience

Founded in 1749, the bicentennial of the city was commemorated in 1949 by an international exhibition, whose site is a walk framed by palms. Not far from the Place du Bicentenaire, more formally called the Cité de l'Exposition, are the ruins of the National Palace, the National Pantheon Museum, the Embassy of France, the Ministry of National Education, the French Institute.

The Champ de Mars, a beautiful pulpit surrounding the ruins of the National Palace, is lined with many buildings dating from the thirties. There is also the Museum of Art, other wonders of construction of the turn of the century turned into a Creole museum and antique shops.

Behind the Champ de Mars, extends the Bois-Verna which, until the fifties was the aristocratic district of the city. In this area, there are still these elegant houses made of wood lace called « Gingerbread Houses » whose expression reflects a Creole lifestyle is now gone.

Gastronomic experience

Port-au-Prince is also a must-see circuit of pictorial art galleries. The visitor will observe an important arts and cultural life and a very active nightlife. The restaurants abound, especially in the area of Péton-Ville where visitors enjoy a glass of local rum before enjoying authentic Creole cuisine, always followed by a cup of coffee whose aroma is one of characteristics of the soil. You can also enjoy world cuisine, fne and tasty, where mix modernity and traditon always in a cozy atmosphere and a friendly atmosphere.

Top attractions in Port-au-Prince

Plan your stay in Port-au-Prince

Vous rendre

Book a package, it's easier

Explorez Port-au-Prince et ses environs

Un hub, la capitale et le centre commercial d'Haiti, le siège du gouvernement

Port-au-Prince est situé sur une magnifique baie au sommet du golfe de Gonâve (Gonaïves), et est protégé de la mer par l'île de La Gonâve.

Lorsqu'on parle de Port-au-Prince, on parle surtout de la ville. Cette dernière se trouve dans la Commune de Port-au-Prince, qui, elle, est une subdivision de l'arrondissement de Port-au-Prince se trouvant dans le département de l'Ouest.

Capitale et centre commercial d'Haiti, siège du gouvernement, Port-au-Prince est l'une des 2 points d'entrée au pays. Elle détient le plus grand des 2 aéroports internationaux, l'aéroport Toussaint Louverture. C'est un hub nécessaire pour rejoindre la grande majorité des autres régions d'Haïti.

Expérience urbaine

La ville est plutôt urbaine et très vivante. Les quartiers commerçants occupent le Bord de Mer dont les rues sont envahies de marchandes ambulantes, de voitures colorées (les tap-tap) et de moto-taxis. Plus on s’élève vers les collines, plus la foule perd de sa densité.

Une grande partie de l’élite haïtienne réside dans la banlieue de Pétion-Ville, haute colline à 15 minutes à peine au sud-est de Port-au-Prince et à 450 mètres au-dessus du niveau de la mer. Plus haut encore, à Boutilliers dans la montagne, dès le coucher du soleil, un spectacle splendide dévoile la beauté de la ville dégringolant du cirque de ses collines vers la mer.

Expérience Historique

Fondée en 1749, le bicentenaire de la ville fut commémoré en 1949 par une exposition internationale, dont le site est une promenade encadrée de palmiers. Non loin de la place du Bicentenaire, plus formellement appelée la Cité de l'Exposition, se trouvent les ruines du Palais National, le Musée du Panthéon National, l'Ambassade de France, le Ministère de l'Éducation Nationale, l'Institut Français.

Le Champ de Mars, très belle place pulique qui entoure les ruines du Palais National, est bordé de nombreux édifices datant des années trente. On y trouve aussi le Musée d’Art, autres merveilles de la construction du début du siècle transformées en musée créole et magasins d’antiquités.

Derrière le Champ de Mars, s’étend le Bois-Verna qui, jusque dans les années cinquante fut le quartier aristocratique de la ville. Dans ce quartier, il existe encore ces élégantes demeures en dentelle de bois appelées « Maisons Gingerbread » dont l’expression témoigne d’un art de vivre créole aujourd’hui disparu.

Expérience gastronomique

Port-au-Prince, c’est aussi un incontournable circuit des galeries d’art picturales. Le visiteur observera une vie artistque et culturelle importante et une vie nocturne très active. Les restaurants pullulent, surtout dans  la zone de Péton-Ville où les visiteurs prennent plaisir à déguster un verre de rhum local avant d’apprécier une cuisine créole authentique, toujours suivi d’une tasse de café dont l’arôme est l’une des caractéristiques du terroir. Vous pourrez également y savourer une cuisine du monde, fine et goûteuse, où se mêlent modernité et traditon toujours dans une ambiance feutrée et un cadre convivial.

Top attractions à Port-au-Prince

Planifiez votre séjour à Port-au-Prince

Vous rendre

Réservez un forfait pour faire simple

Réservez « À la Carte »

Sélectionnez ce qu'il vous faut pour compléter votre voyage

Vous loger

Vivre l'expérience

Vous déplacer